April 20, 2015 
By: Jane Foley 

Sigma Tau Delta

The Sigma Tau Delta Honor Society chapter of Salem State, Psi Tau, inducted 24 new members at a ceremony held on Tuesday, April 7th, the largest number of inductees since its inception three years ago. Professor Scott Nowka, chapter faculty sponsor, welcomed inductees and their guests in a packed room in Marsh Hall with help from chapter officers Liz Myers, President, Edward Scofield, Vice President, and Jane Foley, Secretary.

Inductees were chosen for membership based on high academic achievement in English. Specifically, they must place in the highest thirty-five percent of their class, as well as maintain a minimum of a B average in two English classes beyond the requirements of freshman English.

The evening began with an introduction to Sigma Tau Delta, the International English Honor Society, by Edward Scofield who noted that Sigma Tau Delta was founded in 1924 at the Dakota Wesleyan University. Its primary goals, according to their mission and purpose, are to “confer distinction for high achievement in English; promote an interest in literature; foster all aspects of the discipline of English; promote exemplary character and good fellowship among its members; exhibit high standards of academic excellence; and to service society by fostering literacy.”

An account of this past year’s activities and events sponsored by Sigma Tau Delta was reported by Liz Myers, most notably a Better World Books textbook drive, which she noted, “raised over $300 to support non-profit literacy initiatives.” Twenty-five percent, or $75, came back to the SSU Chapter. Members also participated in the chapter-wide Common Reader program by reading and discussing From Sand Creek by Simon J. Ortiz.

Each inductee was officially welcomed into the society when they were presented with a certificate and society pin. The inductees for Spring 2015 were Andrew Ahern, Robert Auld, Kaitlynn Bartley, Kara Brown, Nicole Cardarelli, Katie Casazza, Rachael Cefalu, Victoria Coutts, Felicia Hayden, Chengyu Huang, Jennifer Jordan, Shaneé LeBaron, Sarah Maldari, Amanda Mark, Jeremy Mele, Kayla Mitchell, Sarah Nicholson, Caitlin O’Toole, Shannon Phelan, Sarah Pleau, Jeffrey Raymond, Feliciano Segundo, Yasmeen Srour and Samantha Trullo.

The celebration of achievement continued when graduating seniors were presented with a red and black honors cord to be worn during Salem State’s graduation ceremony in May. Graduating seniors honored were Brittany Burns, Rachael Cefalu, Marianne Curcio, Paige Curtin, Shilo Fairchild, Bryanna Favor, Nicole Gariepy, Ghengyu Huang, Shaneé LeBaron, Sarah Maldari, Liz Myers, Sarah Nicolson, Sarah Pleau and Lauren Vinciguerra.

At the end of the ceremony, the officers for 2015-2016 were elected. The Society welcomed Edward Scofield, who will be moving up to the position of President, Jeremy Mele, Vice President, and Jane Foley, who will be continuing on as Secretary.

All are invited to come to Sigma Tau Delta meetings. Time and location are posted on the English@SSU Facebook page.